MENCS: Chase Elliott Paces Final Practice

Rence Brown Cup, Featured, NASCAR, West 0 Comments

Kyle Busch spun out in final practice and suffered 4 blown tires.

FONTANA, Calif. — Chase Elliott paces the field in the final practice of the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series weekend at the Auto Club Speedway.

Elliott early in the session set the quickest lap (38.404/187.480 mph). It didn’t go without incident as the driver of the No.24 NAPA Chevrolet found the wall and went to the garage for repairs for the rest of the session.

Las Vegas winner, Martin Truex Jr. places in second (38.425/187.378 mph) with Ryan Blaney finishing up the final practice session in third.

The theme of the afternoon session was trouble. As some of the top drivers found themselves in the garage at one time or another for damage repairs.

Kyle Busch places tenth, but spun out with 33 minutes remaining in the session. His team elected not to go back out on the track.

Kevin Harvick, who suffered minor damage in the mornings opening practice. He and his No.4 Busch Beer team finishes the session in P8.

Pole sitter, Kyle Larson also tagged the wall in the session and suffered minor damage to the right side of his No.42 Target Chevrolet.

The next on track activity for the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series is on Sunday, March 26, at 3:30 pm Et, for the Auto Club 400 at the Auto Club Speedway. (FOX, MRN, Sirius XM)


RESULTS: Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series; Final Practice; Auto Club Speedway; March 25, 2017

  1. Chase Elliott
  2. Martin Truex Jr.
  3. Ryan Blaney
  4. Erik Jones
  5. Kyle Larson
  6. Joey Logano
  7. Matt Kenseth
  8. Kevin Harvick
  9. Kurt Busch
  10. Kyle Busch
  11. Daniel Suarez
  12. Kasey Kahne
  13. Brad Keselowski
  14. Aric Almirola
  15. Trevor Bayne
  16. Jimmie Johnson
  17. A.J. Allmendinger
  18. Ryan Newman
  19. Denny Hamlin
  20. Jamie McMurray
  21. Austin Dillon
  22. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  23. Clint Bowyer
  24. Ty Dillon
  25. Michael McDowell
  26. Paul Menard
  27. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  28. Danica Patrick
  29. Chris Buescher
  30. Landon Cassill
  31. Matt DiBenedetto
  32. Gray Gaulding
  33. Corey LaJoie
  34. Cole Whitt
  35. Reed Sorenson
  36. David Ragan
  37. Jeffrey Earnhardt
  38. Timmy Hill

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *