LOLMDS: Pierce Fights Through to First Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Win of 2016

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Track Racing, Featured, Midwest, Other Dirt Late Models 0 Comments

Bobby Pierce earned his first Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series win of the season on Tuesday night. (LOLMDS photo)

Bobby Pierce earned his first Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series win of the season on Tuesday night. (LOLMDS photo)

MACON, IL — Bobby Pierce inherited the lead on lap three from Jonathan Davenport and went on to win the St. Louis U -Pic-A-Part 100 on Tuesday night at Macon Speedway. Pierce raced to his first Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series win of the season, and pocketed $12,000 for his efforts.

Brandon Sheppard charged from the 10th starting spot to finish second. Earl Pearson Jr. came home third followed by Clint Bowyer Racing teammates, Don O’Neal and Darrell Lanigan.

Pierce wrestled his #32 entry to the finish of the grueling 100-lapper with no power steering. “We lost our power steering there at one point, I was worn out. I was tight at the beginning of the race but the car was great. A big thanks to the fans for coming out, they saw a heck of a race.”

“It was nerve-racking after those cautions. I saw Pearson out of the corner of my eye just about every lap. He’s [Pearson] was great on the bottom and I’m sure Sheppard was coming on the top. It was just a crazy race. We have been good all year, it just seems like things would happen to prevent us from winning,” said the 19-year-old who picked up his 13th overall victory of 2016.

“Thanks to Champion Spark Plugs, Allgayer Inc., Advanced Shocks, RPM Services, Keyser, AR Bodies, Ted Brown, Pro Power Engines and of course, Bob Pierce Race Cars.”

Sheppard put on a charge in the Best Performance Motorsports/Rocket Chassis to get the second spot from Pearson at the finish line. “We were pretty good up top. We were a little bit snug. I just had to get up on the wheel at the end to get back by Earl. Bobby had a really good car. Thanks to all the fans for coming out; my family was here tonight. Hope everyone enjoyed the show.”

Pearson, who stayed glued to the bottom for most of the race and nearly took the lead from Pierce several times, finished third.

“I knew Bobby and Brandon would be up top. Heck they grew up around here. Thanks to all of my crew,” Pearson said. “I never dreamed I could come to Macon and run third. Thanks to Carlton and Kemp Lamm and everybody at Dunn-Benson Ford, Lucas Oil Racing TV and Lucas Oil Products.”

Completing the top ten were Dennis Erb Jr., Don Hammer, Brian Diveley, Jared Landers and Scott Bloomquist.

In preliminary action, Jonathan Davenport set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time amongst the 21 entrants, with a lap of 10.512 seconds. Jonathan Davenport, Tim McCreadie, Bobby Pierce won their respective heat races.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.