LOLMDS: Lanigan Nabs First Lucas Oil Late Model Win for Bowyer at the Mag

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Track Racing, Featured, MidSouth, Other Dirt Late Models 0 Comments

Darrell Lanigan broke a three-year winless drought with the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series on Saturday night at Magnolia Motor Speedway.

Darrell Lanigan broke a three-year winless drought with the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series on Saturday night at Magnolia Motor Speedway.

COLUMBUS, Miss. — Darrell Lanigan came from sixth starting spot to win his first Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event of the year on Saturday night at Magnolia Motor Speedway.

Lanigan passed race leader Jimmy Owens with 12 laps to go for his second career LOLMDS victory.

It was Lanigan’s first series win since September of 2013, when he won a preliminary at the Knoxville Nationals. Owens finished second, followed by pole sitter Brandon Sheppard, Scott Bloomquist and Jared Landers.

Lanigan debuted a new Georgia Boot/Peak Antifreeze/ Club 29 Race Car for Clint Bowyer Racing and kept a steady pace during the first-half of the race before gradually picking off the top five in front of him during the caution-free 60-lap feature.

“We saved our tires there early on. My car really came on. We built this piece this week. When we hot lapped here on Thursday night it was really in the ground. I’d like to thank Clint and Casey Bowyer for giving me this chance,” said the 46-year-old, who was making his first appearance at the track in 10 years.

Lanigan, in his first full season running the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series for Clint Bowyer Racing, moved into second on lap 34 overtaking Landers for that position. He then tracked down Owens in heavy lapped traffic using the inside lane of the track while Owens stayed up against the wall.

Owens had another podium finish in the R&W Motorsports/E3 Spark Plugs/Barry Wright Race Cars No. 20. He led from lap four until he was overtaken by Lanigan on lap 49.

“I stayed up on the topside too long,” said Owens. “The bottom started coming into it and he [Lanigan] had a run on me and I couldn’t hold him off. I was trying to clear that last lapped car and he cut in front of me and it just killed my momentum. We had a good car here tonight. Congratulations to Darrell and his crew. They deserved the win. We will hopefully build off of these finishes for the rest of the year.”

Sheppard, in another strong run for the Best Performance Motorsports team, came home third.

“I think we had a pretty good car all night long,” Sheppard said. “Both Darrell and Jimmy had good cars tonight. I moved back up to the top and was gaining on those guys. I had a pretty maneuverable car. We definitely made some good strides tonight.”

Landers set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time among the 45 entrants, with a lap of 13.482 seconds.


RESULTS: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series; Clash at the Mag; Magnolia Motor Speedway; June 18, 2016

  1. Darrell Lanigan
  2. Jimmy Owens
  3. Brandon Sheppard
  4. Scott Bloomquist
  5. Jared Landers
  6. Dennis Erb Jr.
  7. Jonathan Davenport
  8. Wendell Wallace
  9. Don O’Neal
  10. Earl Pearson Jr.
  11. Chris Brown
  12. Tim McCreadie
  13. Steve Francis
  14. Ronny Lee Hollingsworth
  15. Garrett Alberson
  16. Dylan Ames
  17. Shay Knight
  18. Eric Cooley
  19. Colton Flinner
  20. Jake O’Neil
  21. Hunter Rasdon
  22. Chad Thrash
  23. Jimmy Cliburn
  24. Josh Putnam

CREDIT: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.