LOLMDS: Carrier Claims Friday Glory at East Bay Winternationals

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Track Racing, Featured, Other Dirt Late Models, Southeast 0 Comments

GIBSONTON, Fla. – official series release — Rick Schwallie/LOLMDS photo —

Eddie Carrier Jr. won an exciting battle with Devin Moran in Friday night’s $10,000-to-win Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series main event at East Bay Raceway Park.

Carrier held the lead on lap 31, quickly lost it again on the next circuit and used a lapped car to his advantage as he snuck by Moran once again on lap 44. Carrier would led the remaining six laps en route to the victory, his second career at East Bay.

Following Carrier and Moran at the finish were Jimmy Owens, Jared Landers and Jonathan Davenport.

“That was a great race,” said Carrier in victory lane. “The track crew did a great job, they moved the tires out in the corners, and we drivers didn’t know what to think, but it worked out real well. It was nice of Devin to let one of us old guys win tonight.”

“We had to diamond off the corners to get a run down the straight-aways. Both Devin and I had trouble with a lapped car. I used the outside line to get by him coming off of turn four. He saw what I did and used the same line to get by him. I was fortunate enough to find enough room coming off of turn two to get the lead back,” Carrier said.

Moran, the 20-year-old son of Hall of Fame driver Donnie Moran, equaled his best East Bay finish.

Earl Pearson Jr. led the first 23 laps of the race, until contact with a car he was lapping dropped him several spots in the running order. Moran pounced on the opportunity to take the lead.

“Congratulations to Eddie for the win, he deserved it,” Moran said. “He was better than me. I hate it for Earl. He was really fast tonight. I just couldn’t get by that lapped car. I could have moved him out of the way, but I don’t drive like that. I was too patient with him. But we will take second after the week we have had.”

Owens had his best points finish of the young season by finishing third.

“Our car rolled around the top early on, and we were passing cars. No doubt it’s the best we have run all week. I think I used up the edges of the tires getting to the front, and from then on I couldn’t stay with Eddie and Devin,” said Owens.

Completing the top ten were Brandon Sheppard, Mason Zeigler, Bobby Pierce, Steve Francis, and Dan Stone.

In preliminary action, Stone set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group A) amongst the 41 entrants, with a lap of 15.481 seconds. Carrier set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 15.838 seconds. Scott Bloomquist, Earl Pearson Jr., Jared Landers and Moran won their respective heat races. Billy Moyer Jr. and Tim Dohm won their respective B-Mains.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, visit

CREDIT: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.