ISMA: Silver Bullet; McKennedy Takes Booth No. 61 to Hy-Miler Nationals Win at Sandusky

RaceChaser Staff Featured, Midwest, Supermodifieds 0 Comments

SANDUSKY, Ohio — official series release — Jim Feeney/ISMA photo —

Jon McKennedy became the seventh different ISMA winner this season when he won Saturday night’s 38th running of the Hy-Miler Supermodified Nationals at Sandusky Speedway.

While McKennedy had not been in victory lane at the prestigious 100-lap race — the first race of the Supermodified Triple Crown — the car he was driving had been.

Last season, owners Clyde and Susan Booth stood in victory lane with Lou Cicconi, who took his first Hy-Miler victory in the same car.

For Chelmsford, Mass., driver McKennedy it was his seventh ISMA victory and the biggest to date.

“I want to thank all the guys who make this possible, especially Clyde and Susan Booth who gave me the opportunity drive this car,” McKennedy said. “I want to thank my crew and every one who as helped me. I really appreciate it. The first few races this year have been a bit of a struggle for us. We showed a lot of speed but we seemed to have some little issues that would always bite us. Tonight everything worked out great. Earlier today we were struggling. Clyde took out his notebook and got things straightened out. Again I have to thank him and the crew.”

“This is a great win and it’s cool to be a part of it.”

Kyle Edwards had a great run to second place after starting 11th. Hailing from Tennessee, Edwards moved into second after a series of mechanical ills sent polesitter and early race leader Tim Ice, second place runner Dave Shullick Jr. and Danny Shirey to the pits and out of the field.

Edwards then chased eventual winner McKennedy for most of the second half of the race.

“All in all it was a great weekend although toward the end there it kind of hurt us when it started to get loose the last part of the race,” Edwards said. “But, I can’t say enough about that Level Performance motor. We have some serious power. Right now I’m happy with second. We’ll go out and drink a lot of beer and talk about it.”

Twelfth starter Mike McVetta found himself on the podium for the second straight night as he pulled into victory lane behind McKennedy and Edwards.

“I’ll tell you what, just call me Mr. Third place this weekend,” he said. “Every start the car was great for about a lap or two and then it would go away for a lap or two. And the guys in front of me would run away. Then we’d get in a nice rhythm and would reel them in. Then a caution would come and negated all that. Hats off to the guys who do a great job.”

Ice and Mike Lichty led the field to green to start the night. Unfortunately for Lichty, who was one of the favorites entering the night, his race ended quickly when on lap 5, he stopped in turn 3 and was pushed to the pits out of the action. Ice’s night ended on lap 43, when he slowed and came to a halt with a broken front crank bolt on his motor.


RESULTS: ISMA Supermodified Series; Sandusky Speedway; July 25, 2015

Hy-Miler Nationals A-Main (100 laps): 1. Jon McKennedy (61), 2. Kyle Edwards (1), 3. Mike McVetta (22), 4. Eddie Witkum (21), 5. Timmy Jedrzejek (97), 6. Mark Sammut (78), 7. Otto Sitterly (7), 8. Ben Seitz (17), 9. Jeff Locke (37), 10. Charlie Schultz (7M), 11. Trent Stephens (19), 12. Jim Paller (64), 13. AJ Lesiecki (77), 14. Dan Bowes (25), 15. Rob Summers (74), 16. Kevin Jaycox Jr. (07), 17. Gene Lee Gibson (5), 18. Dave Shullick Jr. (95), 19. Danny Shirey (49), 20. Alison Cumens (39), 21. Tim Ice (65), 22. Ryan Coniam (46), 23. Moe Lilje (11), 24. Mike Lichty (84).

CREDIT: International Supermodified Association

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.