Eggleston Leads Wire To Wire For Evergreen Victory

RaceChaser Staff Featured, NASCAR, Touring Series 0 Comments

Chris Eggleston celebrates his victory at Evergreen Speedway on Saturday night (Lindsey Wasson/Getty Images North America).

MONROE, Wash. — Chris Eggleston’s championship charge is underway.

The 28-year-old from Erie, Colorado, dominated Saturday evening’s NAPA Auto Parts 150 presented by Toyota at Evergreen Speedway for his fourth win of the season. Coupled with teammate Todd Gilliland’s off night — he finished ninth after a late flat tire put him a lap down — Eggleston closed back to within five points with four races remaining.

Eggleston’s No. 99 NAPA Filters Toyota held off Will Rodgers on an overtime finish that pushed the race to 155 laps. Nicole Behar finished third, followed by Michael Self and Tayler Riddle.

Rodgers was coming off his first career K&N Pro Series win at Watkins Glen International last week, while Riddle, the 2016 Summer Showdown winner in the super late model showcase at Evergreen, was making his series debut.

Evergreen was the ninth career series win for Eggleston, and came at a track where he finished third in 2015 and second last year.

It was the third race of the season Eggleston won after earning the Coors Light Pole Award earlier in the day.

Julia Landauer finished sixth, followed by Derek Kraus, Matt Levin, Gilliland and Todd Souza.

The NASCAR K&N Pro Series West is back on track at Douglas County Speedway in Roseburg, Oregon, on Saturday, Aug. 26 before finishing up with three races between Sept. 30 and the Nov. 4 finale at Kern County Raceway Park in Bakersfield, Calif.

The NAPA Auto Parts 150 presented by Toyota will air on NBCSN on Thursday, Aug. 17 at 1 p.m. ET.

RESULTS: NASCAR K&N Pro Series West; Evergreen Speedway; Napa Auto Parts 150; August 12,2017

  1. Chris Eggleston
  2. Will Rogers
  3. Nicole Behar
  4. Michael Self
  5. Tyler Riddle
  6. Julia Landauer
  7. Derek Kraus
  8. Matt Levin
  9. Todd Gilliland
  10. Todd Souza
  11. Ron Norman
  12. Stafford Smith
  13. Kody Vanderwal
  14. Andrew Engberson
  15. John Wood
  16. Blaine Perkins
  17. Jesse Iwuji
  18. Takuma Koga
  19. Rudy Vanderwal



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.