CUP: Keselowski Wins Opening Stage At Daytona

Rence Brown Cup, Featured, NASCAR 0 Comments

Braad Keselowski (2) battles Chase Elliott (24) for the race lead at Daytona Int’l Speedway. (Matt Sullivan/Getty Images North America)

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla– Picking up where he left off last July, defending race winner, Brad Keselowski wins the opening stage of the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series, Coke Zero 400 at Daytona International Speedway.

The Team Penske driver led 35 of 40 laps to secure another stage win and crucial playoff points.

“We’re just one stage in.” Keselowski said. “It’s just surviving each stage as you can and try to get as many points as you can at these places. Not a bad start but long, long ways to go.”

“I feel like I can make more aggressive moves when I got four tires so the team put four tires on and everyone’s doing a job. Take with what you know and what’s going to work and making our march forward.”

The race kicked off with electricity in the air as Dale Earnhardt Jr. in his final full-time Cup series start at Daytona, led the field to the green flag.

His lead did not last long as Chase Elliott jumped to the outside of the No.88 to take the lead away from the fan favorite.

As the race continued on, Keselowski showed his muscle as he led all but five laps in the stage, holding off three and four wide challenges.

Eanrhardt Jr finishes the stage in second, with Pocono winner Ryan Blaney in third. Clint Bowyer and 2015 Daytona 500 champion Joey Logano finishes off the top five.

Michael McDowell, Jamie McMurray, Kurt Busch, Matt Kenseth and David Ragan round out the rest of the top ten.

About the Writer

Rence BrownRence Brown is Race Chaser Online’s West Coast-based correspondent, who currently resides in California and carries a deep passion for NASCAR, but is a follower of multiple forms of auto racing across multiple disciplines.

Email Rence at:

Follow on Twitter: @RenceTheFence

Email Race Chaser Online:

Follow RCO on Twitter: @RaceChaserNews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.