CAROLINA SPEEDWAY: Sessoms Rolls to Fifth 2013 Victory

RaceChaser Staff Carolinas Racing, Featured, Southeast 0 Comments

GASTONIA, NC (August 23) – Jay Sessoms hard charging style earned the Stanley, NC native his fifth Roush Yates Late Model victory of the 2013 season and vaulted him atop the point standings.

Tim Allen, subbing for the injured Robbie Bailey came home second with Jonathan Edwards third. Timbo Mangum was fourth with Johnny Pursley fifth in the 16 car field.

Ryan Ayers drove to his first victory of the 2013 season in the Stock Car Steel/SRI Open Wheel Modified feature. Patrick Lyon was second with Matt Emmerling third, Manuel Johnson fourth and Michael Yankee fifth.

Ronald Pope made it two in a row as he outran a strong Domino’s Pizza Street Stock field. Scott Ledford came home second with 12th starting Josh Robbins third. Adam Vandiver and Stephen Watts completed the top five.

Jamie Major continued his recent hot steak as he sped the Tilley Harley Davidson Renegade feature win. John Rhyne, Scott Freeman, Tyler Hyatt and Ronald Pope rounded out the top five.

Shannon Barnhill scored the Q2U BBQ Pit Four Cylinder win. Blake Pryor, Patrick Lyon, Jerry Oliver and Dennis Kirk completed the top five.

Casey Shane rolled to yet another Hornets victory. Mike Baucom, Scott Cloninger, David Laney and Scott Burgess rounded out the top five.

This Friday night August 30th Carolina Speedway roars back to action with a full racing program featuring the Carolina Workwear NDRA Late Models. Gates open at 5:00 with racing at 8:00 PM. For more information please visit

PHOTO CREDIT:  Jay Sessoms in victory lane – Randy Houser Photo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.