AUDIO/RECAP; Still On Top; Weatherman Wins ARCA Pole for Sioux Chief PowerPEX 200

Kyle Magda ARCA, Audio, Featured, Midwest 0 Comments

CLERMONT, Ill. — Audio, photo and recap by Race Chaser Online Associate Editor Kyle Magda —

Nothing changed at the top of the leaderboard, as Kyle Weatherman won his second straight ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards pole Friday afternoon at Lucas Oil Raceway.

Weatherman took everything up to Ansell Pole Qualifying, including both practice sessions in his No. 22 Ford. The 17-year-old driver came up a spot short last Friday at Iowa, but has a clear view out the windshield once the green flag drops on the Sioux Chief PowerPEX 200.

“It was a great lap,” Weatherman said. “I can’t thank these Cunningham guys enough for what they do. We’ve been winning a lot of these practice session and qualifying deals. We just have to capitalize on the races. We’re getting closer.”

The Wentzville, Mo. native turned a lap of 22.396 seconds (110. 27 mph) late in the qualifying session to put the car on the pole.

Another 17-year-old joins Weatherman on the front row is NASCAR K&N Pro East points leader William Byron in the No. 55 Liberty University Toyota. Byron won  the last K&N East event out at New Hampshire Motor Speedway last Friday and ran a lap of 22.414 seconds (110.1081 mph).

Venutrini Motorsports tapped Byron earlier in the week to drive the No. 55 Toyota in Friday night’s Sioux Chief PowerPEX 200. His VMS  teammate and defending race winner, Brandon Jones, starts behind the 17-year-old front row in third (110.014 mph). The top-three starters all broke the 110 mph barrier. Points leader Grant Enfinger will start fourth (108.865 mph)

Chase Briscoe and Clayton Weatherman both qualified career-bests in fifth and sixth, respectively. This is the first race in which the younger Weatherman has been able to qualify his No. 10 Ford for the first time in his career, as time  trials were rained out at Salem and Winchester earlier this season.

Travis Braden starts eighth in his series debut, while Brian Keselowski makes his return to the series for the fist time sine 2012 and starts 10th in his No. 29 Ford. Second-generation driver Matt Wallace starts 12th for Kimmel Racing.

Winchester winner Austin Wayne Self rolls off in 17th a week after team owner Mason Mitchell won’s last week event at Iowa Speedway in his home state. Mason Mitchell Motorsports comes into Lucas Oil Raceway on a two-race winning streak.

J.J. Haley never turned a lap in qualifying after his No. 74 Braun Auto Group Chevrolet didn’t make it in time to the line after the five-minute clock expired during pre-qualifying tech. Haley was second fastest in both practice sessions this afternoon and starts 33rd.

The green flag for Friday night’s Sioux Chief PowerPEX 200 drops shortly after 9 p.m. ET and will be shown live on FOX Sports 1.


Audio with pole-sitter Kyle Weatherman


RESULTS: ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards Sioux Chief PowerPEX 200; Menards Pole Qualifying presented by Ansell; Lucas Oil Raceway; July 24, 2015

  1. Kyle Weatherman
  2. William Byron
  3. Brandon Jones
  4. Grant Enfinger
  5. Chase Briscoe
  6. Clayton Weatherman
  7. Tom Hessert
  8. Travis Braden
  9. Ken Schrader
  10. Brian Keselowski
  11. A.J. Fike
  12. Matt Wallace
  13. David Levine
  14. Josh Williams
  15. Bobby Gerhart
  16. Brian Finney
  17. Austin Wayne Self
  18. Sarah Cornett-Ching
  19. Bo LeMastus
  20. Scott Reeves
  21. Dale Shearer
  22. James Swanson
  23. Thomas Praytor
  24. Richard Hauck
  25. Tyler Miles
  26. Chris Lafferty
  27. Kevin Campbell
  28. Josh White
  29. Michael Lira
  30. Jordan Williams
  31. Con Nicolopoulos
  32. Mike Abram
  33. J.J. Haley
  34. Mark Meunier

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.