AUDIO/RECAP: Daily Double; Fatscher, Wilk and Good Sweep Bandolero Classes During Day Two of Winter Heat

Jacob Seelman Audio, Carolinas Racing, Featured, Southeast, US Legends/INEX 0 Comments

CONCORD, N.C. — Audio, photo and recap by Managing Editor Jacob Seelman for Speed77 Radio and Race Chaser Online —

Day Two of the 2015 Winter Heat Series at Charlotte Motor Speedway was the day of the Bandoleros, and three drivers made those classes their playground on Sunday afternoon during double feature action.

Eddie Fatscher (Outlaws), Daniel Wilk (Bandits) and Tommy Good (Beginner Bandits) each won both of their respective class features in dominating fashion, with both Wilk and Good moving to three straight Winter Heat wins after also claiming the Saturday afternoon checkers as well.

Fatscher led wire to wire in both the Outlaws races, while Wilk had to fight hard with Mini Tyrrell in the second Bandits feature, going three wide into turn one to take the lead just past halfway and never looking back from there.

“I just had to go quick,” Wilk said in victory lane. “I knew we were going to get inverted somewhere (other than on the pole) and I knew I had to make my move otherwise Ryan Israel or DJ Canipe would have checked out. DJ crashed real hard, I’m glad he’s okay, but our car was just so good all day. There’s not much else to say beyond that.”

Good, who took the Beginner Bandits feature on Saturday in a thrilling photo finish with Dylan Notaro, left no doubt this time around who the best car on track was. Good will move up to the Bandits class for the remainder of the Winter Heat.

“I was just trying to get my restarts down today, and one of the restarts (Notaro) was riding my tail and I thought he was going to get to me,” Good said at the end of the afternoon. “I just had to stick it in there and managed to keep going. Glad we got this win and ready for the next step.”

In Legends Car action, Matthew Thomas extended his win streak to three straight in the Young Lions division, fighting from ninth after a crash in his heat race to take the win over Alex Reece and Chase Purdy.

“I just fought my way up through the field as fast as I could,” Thomas said. “When I got there, I just did what I had to do and just tried to set sail so I didn’t have to worry about what was going on behind me.”

Dillon Faggart went back to back in the Semi-Pro class, notching his second straight victory over Christian Eckes in a strong performance, while Scott Whitaker avenged his last lap misfortunes from the second Masters race on Saturday by claiming his second Winter Heat victory of the season on Sunday afternoon.

And in the headline Pro class for the Legend Cars, Joey Padgett led wire to wire and held off a charging Michael Torres for his first victory of the Winter Heat after Torres was involved in a lap two crash in turn four that sent him spinning into the grass, along with Reid Wilson.

“We had a lot of bad luck yesterday, but luck was on our side today,” Padgett said following the event. “I don’t really know what happened there at the start — a little rough with a few of those guys up front — but we started up front and just rode. It was a good day for the team, and I hope we can keep it going forward.”

The 2015 Winter Heat Series continues with Round Three on Sunday, January 18, featuring a full slate of Legend Car and Bandolero racing.


RESULTS: Winter Heat Series Round Two; Charlotte Motor Speedway; Jan. 11, 2015

Bandolero Outlaws Race One (20 laps): 1) Eddie Fatscher; 2) Matthew Davey; 3) Carson Ware; 4) Austin Geer; 5) Kayla Lyons; 6) Roy Hayes; 7) Hunter Richards

Audio with race winner Eddie Fatscher:

Bandolero Outlaws Race Two (20 laps): 1) Eddie Fatscher; 2) Matthew Davey; 3) Carson Ware; 4) Austin Geer; 5) Roy Hayes; 6) Hunter Richards; 7) Kayla Lyons

Bandolero Bandits Race One (20 laps): 1) Daniel Wilk; 2) DJ Canipe; 3) Ryan Isreal; 4) Timothy Tyrell; 5) William Robusto; 6) Carson Kvapil; 7) Cameron Bolin; 8) Bryson Ruff; 9) Joshua Kossek; 10) George Hayes; 11) Isabella Robusto; 12) Parker Ratzlaff

Audio with race winner Daniel Wilk:

Bandolero Bandits Race Two (20 laps): 1) Daniel Wilk; 2) Timothy Tyrell; 3) Ryan Isreal; 4) William Robusto; 5) Bryson Ruff; 6) Carson Kvapil; 7) Cameron Bolin; 8) Joshua Kossek; 9) Isabella Robusto; 10) Parker Ratzlaff; 11) George Hayes; 12) DJ Canipe

Audio with race winner Daniel Wilk:

Bandolero Beginner Bandits Race One (20 laps): 1) Tommy Good; 2) Justin Oplinger; 3) Gracie Trotter; 4) Tyler Adams; 5) Christopher Oplinger; 6) Reyna Jaiden; 7) Mason Dejarnett; 8) Jackson Moore; 9) Dylan Notaro; 10) Tyler Bartoszewicz; 11) Stanley Hayes; 12) Joshua Speas; 13) David Sullivan

Audio with race winner Tommy Good:

Bandolero Beginner Bandits Race Two (20 laps): 1) Tommy Good; 2) Gracie Trotter; 3) Justin Oplinger; 4) Dylan Notaro; 5) Mason Dejarnett; 6) Christopher Oplinger; 7) Tyler Adams; 8) Reyna Jaiden; 9) Tyler Bartoszewicz; 10) Stanley Hayes; 11) Joshua Speas; 12) Jackson Moore

Legend Cars Pro (20 laps): 1) Joey Padgett; 2) Michael Torres; 3) Zane Smith; 4) Brandon Gdovic; 5) Spencer Saunders; 6) Reid Wilson; 7) Julia Landauer; 8) Matt Marina; 9) Drew Brown; 10) Henri Tuomaala

Audio with race winner Joey Padgett:

Audio with 2nd-place Michael Torres:

Legend Cars Masters (20 laps): 1) Scott Whitaker; 2) Robby Faggart; 3) Bruce Silver; 4) Rodney Tharp; 5) Ron Mander; 6) Tom Sherman; 7) TJ Larson; 8) Greg Bruce; 9) Danny Cisson; 10) Dave Varga

Audio with race winner Scott Whitaker:

Legend Car Semi-Pro (20 laps): 1) Dillon Faggart; 2) Christian Eckes; 3) Devin O’Connell; 4) Alex Murray; 5) Blake Spears; 6) Erik Nash; 7) John Holleman; 8) Brad Lonmaster; 9) Breanne Gilligan; 10) Chase Campbell; 11) Joseph Bisson; 12) Alex Urbina; 13) Matthew Moermond

Audio with race winner Dillon Faggart:

Legend Car Young Lions (20 laps): 1) Matthew Thomas; 2) Alex Reece; 3) Chase Purdy; 4) Austin Green; 5) Riley Herbst; 6) Dawson Cram; 7) Ryan Millington; 8) Jacob Heafner; 9) Alex McCollum; 10) Anthony Alfredo; 11) Andrew Molleur; 12) Justin Taylor; 13) Carson Poindexter; 14th) Zack Wells

Audio with race winner Matt Thomas:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *