AUDIO/RECAP: Clean Sweep; Hagar Captures Crowley’s Ridge Checkers for Second Glen Francis Memorial Cup Win

Jacob Seelman Audio, Dirt Track Racing, Featured 0 Comments

PARAGOULD, Ark. – Audio, photo and recap by Managing Editor Jacob Seelman for Speed77 Radio, Race Chaser Online and USCS Racing –

Thursday night’s rescheduled ‘Rumble at the Ridge’ ended up being a clean sweep for 2013 United Sprint Car Series filtercharged by K&N champion Derek Hagar.

Hagar, from nearby Marion, Ark., took the lead of the 30-lap feature event at Crowley’s Ridge Raceway from Missouri hotshoe Joe B. Miller on a lap 14 restart and led the rest of the distance to notch his third USCS win of the 2015 season and claim his second Glen Francis Memorial Cup trophy in the process.

The win was Hagar’s 32nd career series victory, and his second in three years at CRR (2013 and 2015), after the 25-year-old also won the Hoosier Speed Dash and the Engler Machine and Tool First Heat earlier in the night.

“I saw the 42 [of Andy McElhannon] staying with us on the bottom lane the restart before the last one,” Hagar explained in USCS Victory Lane. “I tried it, and it worked surprisingly well for us.”

“I kinda slipped up a little bit at the start that allowed Joe B. to get by me; they moved the tires out just before the start of the race and it messed my line up a bit because I didn’t have anything to get ahold of [on the bottom.] That last restart, we finally got a bit of a run and were able to get by and hold him off from there

Miller, who hung on to finish a USCS career-best of second, said that the mid-race restart – sparked after 2012 series champion Tim Crawley and veteran Justin Webb flipped in turn one – ultimately spoiled his chances of scoring a maiden USCS 360 main event win.

“My gameplan just changed [when that last caution came out],” Miller admitted. “I thought I was going to try blocking the slider on Derek, and I think I just lost too much momentum. Hats off to him though, he did a great job. Our car was great, and the track prep was fantastic tonight. I’m really happy with this result and I think it shows a lot of what we’re capable of.”

Brad Bowden, from Hernando, Miss. rounded out the podium in third, with Andy McElhannon fading to finish fourth after running as high as second during the 30-lap main. Eleven time and defending series champion Terry Gray, from Bartlett, Tenn., completed the top five at the checkers.

The race was slowed by three cautions in addition to the lap 13 red flag – at lap two for a spin by Dylan DeJournett in turn one; at lap five when Bryant, Ark. pilot Zach Pringle looped his machine in turn three; and at lap nine when Crawley dove low in turn four to try and take the lead from Miller, but shot up the race track and jumped the cushion in turn four.

Crawley was able to continue after that incident, and had worked his way back from 21st to 14th when he went tumbling end over end.

At the final flag, 1998 USCS champion and Olive Branch, Miss. native Eddie Gallagher led the second group of drivers with a sixth place effort, with Marshall Skinner, from Marion, Ark. following in seventh. Hernando, Mississippi’s Jerod Roller finished eighth and Anthony Nicholson, out of Bartlett, Tenn. came home in ninth. Little Rock, Ark. hotshoe Cody Gardner capped off the top ten finishers.

In other preliminary action, Andy McElhannon rolled to the victory in the Butlerbuilt Second Heat, Miller took the victory in the Schoenfeld Headers Third Heat and Mike Pack triumphed in the JE Pistons Fourth Heat.

Hagar was the provisional polesitter after scoring the most passing points in heat race action, and after a zero was rolled on the K&N Inversion Die, he also received the K&N Filters Pole Award.  Third place finisher Cody Gardner started 14th and passed the most cars in the A-main (11) to grab the Wilwood Disc Brakes Hard Charger Award.

The United Sprint Car Series filtercharged by K&N continues their 2015 schedule Friday night, July 10 with the rescheduled ‘Brawl in Batesville’ at the Batesville Motor Speedway.

For rules and updated schedule information about the United Sprint Car Series Outlaw Thunder Tour, please visit or call the series office at 770-460-7223 or 770-865-6097.


Audio with race winner Derek Hagar:

Audio with runner-up Joe B. Miller:

Audio with third place Brad Bowden:


RESULTS: USCS Sprint Car Series “Rumble at the Ridge”; Crowley’s Ridge Raceway; July 9, 2015

Hoosier Tire Speed Dash:  Derek Hagar, Tim Crawley, A.G. Raines, Marshall Skinner, Morgan Turpen, Zach Pringle (DNS).

Engler Machine and Tool First Heat:  Derek Hagar, Marshall Skinner, Zach Pringle, A.G. Raines, Jerod Roller, Justin Webb, Jan Howard.

Butlerbuilt Second Heat:  Andy McElhannon, Eddie Gallagher, Anthony Nicholson, Cody Gardner, Howard Moore, Jeff Willingham, Ronny Howard.

Schoenfeld Headers Third Heat:  Joe B. Miller, Morgan Turpen, Tim Crawley, Brad Bowden, Nick Snyder, Kevin Hinkle, Blake Jenkins.

JE Pistons Fourth Heat:  Mike Pack, Terry Gray, 7, Robert Richardson, Christopher Wright, Tyler Vaughn, Brandon Hinkle.


Saldana Racing Products B-Main:  12-laps (6 transfer)

  1. #3 – A.G. Raines, West Memphis, AR
  2. #40 – Howard Moore, Memphis, TN
  3. #5 – Jerod Roller, Hernando, MS
  4. #32X – Robert Richardson, Searcy, AR
  5. #28 – Jeff Willingham, Ripley, MS
  6. #88R – Jan Howard, Marion, AR
  7. #116 – Nick Snyder, Marco Island, FL
  8. #44 – Ronny Howard, Nesbit, MS
  9. #31 – Justin Webb, Drummonds, TN
  10. #99 – Blake Jenkins, Benton, AR
  11. #32 – Brandon Hinkle, Cabot, AR
  12. #72 – Christopher Wright, Qulin, MS
  13. #21 – Kevin Hinkle, Cabot, AR
  14. #18T – Tyler Vaughn, Bono, AR


USCS Sprint Car Series filtercharged by K&N Glen Francis Memorial Cup A-main:  30-laps

  1. #9JR – Derek Hagar, Marion, AR
  2. #51B – Joe B. Miller, Millersville, MO
  3. #39 – Brad Bowden, Hernando, MS
  4. #42 – Andy McElhannon, Nesbit, MS
  5. #10 – Terry Gray, Bartlett, TN
  6. #1 – Eddie Gallagher, Olive Branch, MS
  7. #26 – Marshall Skinner, Marion, AR
  8. #5 – Jerod Roller, Hernando, MS
  9. #16 – Anthony Nicholson, Bartlett, TN
  10. #2J – Cody Gardner, Little Rock, AR
  11. #17 – Mike Pack, Batesville, AR
  12. #40 – Howard Moore, Memphis, TN
  13. #88R – Jan Howard, Marion, AR
  14. #10M – Morgan Turpen, Cordova, TN
  15. #116 – Nick Snyder, Marco Island, FL
  16. #3 – A.G. Raines, West Memphis, AR
  17. #32X – Robert Richardson, Searcy, AR
  18. #7 – Dylan DeJournett, New Madrid, MO
  19. #28 – Jeff Willingham, Ripley, MS
  20. #31 – Justin Webb, Drummonds, TN
  21. #88 – Tim Crawley, Benton, AR
  22. #44 – Ronny Howard, Nesbit, MS
  23. #8Z – Zach Pringle, Bryant, AR


Did Not Start A-Main:

#99 – Blake Jenkins, Benton, AR
#32 – Brandon Hinkle, Cabot, AR
#72 – Christopher Wright, Qulin, MS
#21 – Kevin Hinkle, Cabot, AR
#18T – Tyler Vaughn, Bono, AR


USCS Sprint Car Series Race Awards:

Hoosier Tire Speed Dash:  #9JR – Derek Hagar
Engler Machine and Tool First Heat:  #9JR – Derek Hagar
Butlerbuilt Second Heat:  #42 – Andy McElhannon
Schoenfeld Headers Third Heat:  #51B – Joe B. Miller
JE Pistons Fourth Heat:  #17 – Mike Pack
K&N Filters Pole Award:  #9JR – Derek Hagar
JE Pistons Top Gun Award:  #51B – Joe B. Miller (2nd place)
Bell Helmets Focus Award:  #51B – Joe B. Miller
K&N Filters Podium (3rd place) Award:  #39 – Brad Bowden
Brown and Miller Racing Solutions Fourth Place Award:  #42 – Andy McElhannon
Wilwood Disc Brakes Hard Charger Award:  #39 – Brad Bowden
Keizer Aluminum Wheels Top Five Award:  #10 – Terry Gray
Saldana Racing Products Super Sixth Award:  #1 – Eddie Gallagher
Pyrotect Racing Cells Lucky Seven Award:  #26 – Marshall Skinner
DMI/Bulldog Rear Ends Top Ten Award:  #2J – Cody Gardner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.