ASCoC: Haudenschild Holds Off Larson for Waynesfield Speedweek Score

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Track Racing, Featured, Midwest, Other Sprint Cars, Sprints & Midgets 0 Comments

Sheldon Haudenschild celebrating with family and crew in victory lane at Wayne County Speedway. (Vince Vellella photo)

Sheldon Haudenschild celebrates with family and crew after his win at Waynesfield Raceway Park. (Vince Vellella photo)

WAYNESFIELD, Ohio — For a second consecutive season, Sheldon Haudenschild scored an Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by Cometic Gasket victory at Waynesfield Raceway Park.

Haudenschild held off polesitter Kyle Larson for the victory on night two of Speedweek after a hard fought battle through traffic.

Haudenschild, who started third on the Arctic Cat All Star feature grid, survived an epic three car battle during the late stages of the 35-lap main event, keeping Larson and Tim Shaffer in his rear-view mirror.

The Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions victory increased his season total to three and bumped his career win total with the series to nine.

“That was really intense,” explained Haudenschild. “Especially knowing that Kyle Larson was right behind me, that made it really intense. You get to lapped cars so fast here and it really makes it hard to figure out where to go. Those guys are racing for positions, also, sometimes three and four wide right in front of you. Racing in traffic actually allowed Kyle (Larson) to get underneath me at one point. Luckily, I was able to slide back underneath him in three and four and make it stick. I didn’t see him much after that. That was a lot of fun.”

The “Wild Child” Jac Haudenschild led the first five circuits at Waynesfield Raceway Park on Saturday evening, eventually losing the lead to Larson on the bottom side of the speedway at lap six. Sheldon Haudenschild made his first bid for the top spot on laps 12 and 13, officially leading lap 13, driving by Larson in traffic.

The pair dueled nearly nose to tail for the next six circuits before the main event’s first caution appeared on lap 20. Caution flags appeared once again on lap 21, disrupting the feature field for the second and final time of the evening.

Green-flag conditions returned for good with Sheldon Haudenschild back on the point. The last 14 laps proved to be more than challenging for the pilot of the Southern Pacific Farms/No. 93, pressured on several occasions by Kyle Larson and Tim Shaffer, all while attempting to negotiate heavy traffic.

Despite the pressure, Haudenschild prevailed, keeping the point position despite multiple slide job attempts by Larson and challenges by Shaffer. Even after making accidental contact with Tim Shaffer during the closing circuits, Larson would hang on to finish in the runner-up position, followed by Shaffer.

“I just can’t thank my guys enough for their hard work,” said Haudenschild. “They work their tails off to keep everything in shape and ready to go. I owe this all to them. Tonight was a lot of fun. Hopefully we can keep this going tomorrow night at Millstream.”

Randy Hannagan won the accompanying Sprint Invaders 360 sprint car feature.


RESULTS: All Stars Circuit of Champions; Ohio Sprint Speedweek pres. by Cometic Gasket; Waynesfield Raceway Park; June 18, 2016

A-Main (40 Laps):  1. 93-Sheldon Haudenschild[3] ; 2. 57-Kyle Larson[1] ; 3. 49-Tim Shaffer[4] ; 4. 10H-Chad Kemenah[12] ; 5. 5T-Travis Philo[11] ; 6. 11K-Kraig Kinser[6] ; 7. 11N-Randy Hannagan[16] ; 8. 71-Jamie Veal[7] ; 9. 91-Cale Thomas[19] ; 10. 97-Dean Jacobs[9] ; 11. 81-Lee Jacobs[14] ; 12. 5-Byron Reed[10] ; 13. 4-Kasey Kahne[18] ; 14. 1-Dale Blaney[21] ; 15. 21-Cap Henry[20] ; 16. 35-Stuart Brubaker[8] ; 17. 8M-TJ Michael[15] ; 18. 38-DJ Foos[13] ; 19. 70-Danny Holtgraver[23] ; 20. 48-Danny Dietrich[22] ; 21. O7-Jacob Wilson[24] ; 22. 6M-Jac Haudenschild[2] ; 23. 20N-Hunter Schuerenberg[17] ; 24. 60-Kory Crabtree[25] ; 25. 40-Caleb Helms[5].

CREDIT: All Stars Circuit of Champions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *