ASCoC: Blaney On Verge of All-Star History at Eldora

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Track Racing, Featured, Midwest, Other Sprint Cars, Sprints & Midgets 0 Comments

ROSSBURG, Ohio – official release — Rick Rarer photo — Dale Blaney could do something no other sprint car driver has done when the University of Northwestern Ohio All Star Circuit of Champions visit Eldora Speedway Saturday.

Blaney will earn an unprecedented fifth series championship if he takes the green flag in the feature event. Earlier this summer Blaney became the only driver in the long history of the UNOH All Stars to claim a fifth Ohio Sprint Speedweek championship. Blaney is one of five drivers – Kenny Jacobs, Frank Kerr, Chad Kemenah and Tim Shaffer – to have earned four series championships. Blaney will also lock up the Ohio Region championship of the UNOH All Stars on Saturday.

No other track in the country has hosted more of the UNOH All Star races than Eldora. Saturday’s event will be the 135th visit of the UNOH All Stars at the famous half mile. There have been 42 different UNOH All Star winners at Eldora, led by Jacobs with 21 victories.

The UNOH Sprintacular not only includes the All Stars, but the Buckeye Machine BOSS non-wing sprint cars and the NRA Sprint Invader 360 sprints. Last year the three divisions brought in more than 100 sprint cars to Eldora.

Earlier this year during the Ohio Sprint Speedweek visit to the track, Danny Holtgraver scored his first career win at Eldora. Last year for the Sprintacular Jac Haudenschild, who has a pair of series wins in 2014, scored the victory. Haudenschild has nine career All Star wins at Eldora.

Blaney, who has 16 series wins in 2014 to run his career total to 115, has six career All Star wins at Eldora. Overall, Blaney has 20 wins in 2014, the most he has ever scored in one season in his career. Should Blaney win the feature Saturday for his 17th series win, it would tie for the most All Star wins for him in a year since he scored 17 in 1996.

Haudenschild sits second in the UNOH All Star national points followed by Holtgraver, Shaffer and Lee Jacobs. Jacobs, who is second in the Ohio Region points, is wrapping up one of his most successful seasons and has two series wins in 2014.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.