ARCA: One-and-Done; Benjamin Storms to Iowa ARCA Pole

RaceChaser Staff ARCA, Featured, Plains 0 Comments

NEWTON, Iowa — official series release — ARCA photo —

Kyle Benjamin won the pole for tonight's ABC Supply 150 at Iowa Speedway (ARCA photo).

Kyle Benjamin won the pole for tonight’s ABC Supply 150 at Iowa Speedway (ARCA photo).

Easley, South Carolina’s Kyle Benjamin opted for just one lap in qualifying but it was plenty good enough to win the Menards Pole presented by Ansell Saturday afternoon at Iowa Speedway.

Benjamin, in the No. 28 FEVR Chevrolet for Ranier Racing with MDM, earned the pole with a quick time of 24.311 (129.571 mph). If the day didn’t start so well for Benjamin, it ended up a lot better after qualifying.

“We didn’t unload where we wanted to, but our guys worked hard on it all day,” said Benjamin. “I think we showed in qualifying that we fixed it.”

Benjamin will lead the field to green in tonight’s ABC Supply 150 presented by Casey’s General Store, live on FS2 at 9:00 p.m. Eastern.

“We have a lot of adjustment built in as we get into the night. We know the track’s going to change and I feel like we’re ready for that. I think everyone’s fighting tight in and loose off.”

When asked who he was going to have to beat tonight, Benjamin said, “The Cunningham cars…they’re always awesome and they’ve been really consistent all year. But there are a lot of good cars in the field tonight. I counted at least 15 that have a legitimate shot to win this thing.”

Fifteen-year-old Christian Eckes qualified a career-best second in the No. 15 New York Bus Sales Toyota for Venturini Motorsports. Eckes, like Benjamin, only took one lap in qualifying. The Middletown, New York rookie circled the .875-mile track in 24.361 seconds (129.305 mph).

Kyle Weatherman, driving for his third different team of 2016, qualified third in the No. 10 St. Charles Glass Ford at 24.427 (128.956 mph).

Brady Boswell, a teammate here to defending race winner Mason Mitchell, qualified fourth in the No. 98 Boswell Electric-Karl Chevrolet.

Chase Briscoe, in the No. 77 Big Tine Ford, qualified fifth. Briscoe, the current championship point leader, won the five previous short track poles this year but fell short on what would have been his sixth. Briscoe was fastest in practice prior to qualifying.

RESULTS: ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards; Menards Pole Qualifying presented by Ansell; Iowa Speedway; July 9, 2016

  1. Kyle Benjamin
  2. Christian Eckes
  3. Kyle Weatherman
  4. Brady Boswell
  5. Chase Briscoe
  6. Harrison Burton
  7. Mason Mitchell
  8. Matt Kurzejewski
  9. Josh Williams
  10. Myatt Snider
  11. Dalton Sargeant
  12. Cole Custer
  13. Tom Hessert
  14. Sarah-Cornett Ching
  15. A.J. Fike
  16. Tom Berte
  17. Josh Reeves
  18. Nick Higdon
  19. Thomas Praytor
  20. David Sear
  21. Dustin Knowles
  22. Brad Smith
  23. Mike Senica
  24. Con Nicolopoulos
  25. Richard Hauck
  26. Chris Bailey Jr.
  27. Wayne Peterson
  28. Mike Basham
  29. Kevin Hinckle


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.