ARCA: Briscoe Rolls at Chicagoland; Wins Bill France Four Crown

Kyle Magda ARCA, Featured, Midwest, Stock Cars 0 Comments

Chase Briscoe takes home the Bill France Four Crown after winning Thursday night at Chicagoland Speedway (ARCA photo).

Chase Briscoe takes home the Bill France Four Crown after winning Thursday night at Chicagoland Speedway (ARCA photo).

JOLIET, Ill. — It was all Chase Briscoe, all night during the SCOTT 150 at Chicagoland Speedway.

Briscoe took the lead from pole-sitter Shane Lee on lap 1 and held a big lead most of the night to score his second-consecutive ARCA superspeedway victory. The Cunningham Motorsports padded onto his insurmountable points lead going into the series final two races of 2016. He also claimed the Bill France Four Crown to add to his impressive season,

“We’ve been good all year long,” Briscoe said. “Chad and everybody at Cunningham brings great race cars. It makes my job a lot easier. We’ve just had a lot of bad luck this season. We’re giving away wins and tonight, this is what happens when we execute.”

Briscoe’s only miscue Thursday night was overshooting his pit stall on lap 74 and the only car able to contend with the series points leader was Lee’s No. 32 Win-Tron Racing Toyota.

The No. 77 Big Tine Ford got trapped behind a lapped car and Lee took the top spot from the points leader early in the event. Briscoe and Cunningham teammate Austin Cindric ran different pit strategies forcing the No. 99 PIRTEK Ford on lap 69 for a green-flag stop.

“It was huge to get those General Tires,” Briscoe said about pitting. “They bring a great tire, but at the same time, we had a lot of laps on them. Chad and me kind of contemplated there and once Cindric came out there after taking four tires, he just left us so we really knew that was the key there was  to  come down there and take tires. So proud of these guys. They’ve been working their tails off this past week and we’ve got a long couple weeks ahead. So glad to get Big Tine another win.”

Briscoe and Shane Lee battle for the lead during Thursday night's SCOTT 150 (Jeremy Thompson/ photo).

Briscoe and Shane Lee battle for the lead during Thursday night’s SCOTT 150 (Jeremy Thompson/ photo).

Tire wear played into the outcome as Cindric drove around Briscoe to get one of his two laps back and then took the wave-around when second-place  Shane Lee pounded the Turn 3 wall after the right-front tire went flat.

“Going into Turn 1 on that lap, I told the guys over he radio that I got a vibration,” Lee said. “Luckily, I took the high line going into Turn 3 over here when it let go. It only vibrated for about a half-a-lap before it let go. I just want to thank all the guys at Win-Tron: the crew chief Todd Meier, Kevin Cywinski. They gave me the best car we had all year.We really had a good shot to win this race. It had been us and the 77 were by far the two best cars. It just wasn’t our night.”

From there on out, Briscoe’s main competitior was done for the night and no other driver was able to challenge the No. 77 car. John Wes Townley finished runner-up again to Briscoe and nearly collided with Roulo Brothers Racing driver Ty Majeski a few laps after the race’s final restart. The Roush-Fenway Racing protege Majeski came home with an eighth-place finish in his superspeedway debut.

“It was crazy out there,” Majeski said. “We had a really good run. Our car was really fast in clean air and when I get up behind somebody, we’re running steel-body car and they all have composite. Those composites seem to poke a bigger hole in the air and we’re unable to get good runs on guys. We just stalled out when we got within three car lengths of them. In clear air, we had a top-five car and the Potawoami Ford Fusion was really fast. Definitely a learning experience tonight.”

“Learned a lot and we’ll take this momentum into Kansas.”

Ty Majeski saves his No. 17 machine late in the race (Jeremy Thompson/ photo).

Ty Majeski saves his No. 17 machine late in the race (Jeremy Thompson/ photo).

Majeski’s No. 17 machine was the highest-finishing steel-bodied car in the field and nearly went around after contact with Austin Cindric, making an incredible save to keep the car in one piece.

Christopher Bell came home third in the No. 15 JBL Toyota, followed by Kyle Weatherman and Dalton Sargeant completing the top-five. Cindric took the wave-around when the leaders pitted and rallied back to sixth.

Travis Braden finished seventh while Brent Sherman finished ninth for Mason Mitchell Motorsports in his first ARCA start in seven years.

Chase Briscoe becomes the 16th different winner in 16 races at Chicagoland as the same streak goes for pole-sitters since the track opened in 2001.

The next time the ARCA Racing Series takes to the track will be for an open test Tuesday at Kentucky Speedway in preparation for next Friday’s Crosley Brands 150.

RESULTS: ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards; SCOTT 150; Chicagoland Speedway; Sept. 15, 2016

  1. Chase Briscoe
  2. John Wes Townley
  3. Christopher Bell
  4. Kyle Weatherman
  5. Dalton Sargeant
  6. Austin Cindric
  7. Travis Braden
  8. Ty Majeski
  9. Brent Sherman
  10. Tom Hessert
  11. Sarah Cornett-Ching
  12. A.J. Fike
  13. Tom Berte
  14. Nick Higdon
  15. Thomas Praytor
  16. Bobby Gerhart
  17. Morgen Baird
  18. Mike Basham
  19. Dustin Knowles
  20. Matt Kurzejewski
  21. Shane Lee
  22. Brandon Jones
  23. Chad Finley
  24. Dylan Martin
  25. Myatt Snider
  26. Josh Williams
  27. Richard Hauck
  28. Con Nicolopoulos
  29. Rick Tackman
  30. Brad Smith
  31. Ed Pompa
  32. Chris Bailey Jr.
  33. Dale Shearer


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.