XFINITY: Another First-Time Pole-Sitter; Koch Leads Field to Green at Talladega

Kyle Magda Featured, NASCAR, Southeast, XFINITY 0 Comments

Blake Koch leads the field to green for the Sparks Energy 300 (Daniel Shirey/Getty Images North America),

TALLADEGA, Ala. — Coors Light Pole qualifying at a restrictor-plate track in XFINITY saw another first-time pole-sitter at Talladega Superspeedway.

Blake Koch swept both rounds of the qualifying session to sit on the pole for Saturday’s Sparks Energy 300. Koch ran a lap of 52.188 seconds (183.49 mph) to lead the field to the green in his No. 11 LeafFilter Chevrolet for Kaulig Racing. The 31-year-old driver paced first practice Friday in the draft as he was the final car to go out in qualifying in both rounds.

Kasey Kahne (183.112 mph) starts alongside Koch in a fifth JR Motorsports car. The No. 88 team made one start earlier this season at Daytona and Kahne needed to qualify his way in with a strong second-place run. Richard Childress Racing cars took four of the top-five spots as Koch is an RCR satellite team with Matt Kaulig’s single-car operation.

Richmond pole-sitter Daniel Hemric was third (182.431 mph) followed by teammates Ben Kennedy (182.424 mph) and Brandon Jones (182.299 mph). Daytona winner Ryan Reed (181.076 mph) qualified 11th as one of two Fords in the top-12. Brennan Poole’s car spewed water out of the front when his No. 48 Dc Solar Chevrolet began to overheat during his round two lap and aborted the run but starts 12th for Saturday’s race.

41 cars showed up for qualifying with BJ McLeod the only driver going home after mechanical issues set back the No. 78 car.

The green flag for Saturday’s Sparks Energy 300 at Talladega drops shortly after 1 p.m. ET (FOX, MRN, SiriusXM).

RESULTS: NASCAR XFINITY Series; Coors Light Pole Qualifyng; Talladega Superspeedway; May 6, 2017

  1. Blake Koch
  2. Kasey Kahne
  3. Daniel Hemric
  4. Ben Kennedy
  5. Brandon Jones
  6. Justin Allgaier
  7. Ty Dillon
  8. Joey Logano
  9. William Byron
  10. Erik Jones
  11. Ryan Reed
  12. Brennan Poole
  13. Cole Custer
  14. Elliott Sadler
  15. Dakoda Armstrong
  16. Tyler Reddick
  17. Brendan Gaughan
  18. Daniel Suarez
  19. Matt Tifft
  20. Spencer Gallagher
  21. Michael Annett
  22. Darrell Wallace Jr.
  23. Aric Almirola
  24. Scott Lagasse Jr.
  25. Ross Chastain
  26. Mark Thompson
  27. Chris Cockrum
  28. Mike Harmon
  29. Garrett Smithley
  30. Ryan Sieg
  31. J.J. Yeley
  32. David Starr
  33. Morgan Shepherd
  34. Ray Black Jr.
  35. Joey Gase
  36. Martin Roy
  37. Timmy Hill
  38. Harrison Rhodes
  39. Jeremy Clements
  40. Jeff Green

DNQ: BJ McLeod

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.