AMA SX: Brayton and Grant to Sit Out at Seattle; Nicoletti and Friese to Substitute

RaceChaser Staff Featured, Motocross/Supercross, Motorcycle Racing, West 0 Comments

HUNTERSVILLE, N.C. (April 10, 2014) – Joe Gibbs Racing Yamaha riders Justin Brayton and Josh Grant will both sit out of this weekend’s Monster Energy AMA Supercross event at CenturyLink Field in Seattle, the organization announced on Wednesday.

After holding the current consecutive starts record at 44 straight main events in Monster Energy AMA Supercross, Brayton was unable to compete last Saturday in Houston, Texas after a spectacular crash in the first timed practice resulted in an injury to his hand and knee. Brayton had sustained a broken bone to his foot during his heat race the week prior in St. Louis but was able to race.

Grant’s injury occurred just after the start of the main event in Houston, when two riders collided behind him and inadvertently sent an out of control rider directly into the back of his bike, causing him to crash violently. Grant was badly shaken up and unable to continue. He was also injured the week before during his heat race in St. Louis.

Both Brayton and Grant were thoroughly evaluated this week and the conclusion of the riders and team is that the cumulative effect of these injuries on both riders warrants a rest and recovery period for proper healing and reduction from further harm.

Phillip Nicoletti, who is a member of the Toyota/Yamaha/JGRMX Team with support from St. Lawrence Radiology and N-FAB will race in Seattle in place of Brayton.

Vince Friese, who races for The Factory Metal Works Team in the 250SX East Championship Series will race as substitute for Grant.

Brayton and Grant’s status will be continuously evaluated and they will return to racing as soon as safely possible.

Nicoletti and Friese, along with the rest of the Monster Energy Supercross field, will race the Seattle, Washington event at CenturyLink Field this Saturday, April 12. Fox Sports One will broadcast the race live starting at 10:30 P.M. EST, with timed qualifying streaming live on beginning at 5:00 P.M. EST.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.