Scott Bloomquist Nabs Pole For North/South 100

RaceChaser Staff Featured, Lucas Oil Late Models 0 Comments

UNION, Ky. — Friday night’s preliminary portion of the Sunoco Race Fuels North/South 100 presented by Lucas Oil, saw 67 entrants draw in for 12 heat races, with Scott Bloomquist and Jimmy Owens landing on the front row for Saturday night’s 100-lap main event.

In the first round of Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series heat races, there were six heats contested.

Eddie Carrier Jr., Scott Bloomquist, Jonathan Davenport, Josh Richards, Bobby Pierce, and Don O’Neal scored heat race victories in round one.

In the first heat of the night, 2014 North/South 100 winner Carrier led all the way to take the victory in the Keaton’s Collision Center, Longhorn Chassis. Victor Lee finished in second, with Dale McDowell crossing the line in third.

The second heat race of the evening saw two-time North/South 100 winner Bloomquist take the victory in his Crop Production Services/Sweet-Bloomquist entry. Zach Dohm followed Bloomquist across the line to run second, with 10th-starting Jimmy Owens finishing up in third.

The third heat saw an exciting finish as 2015 North/South 100 winner Davenport in the G.R. Smith/Victory Auto Sales Rocket passed six-time Florence Speedway track champion Steve Landrum on the final lap to collect the win. Brian Shirley charged from sixth to take third at the end.

The fourth heat of round one saw current LOLMDS points leader Richards’ Best Performance Rocket score an easy win. Former LOLMDS Rookie of the Year Billy Moyer Jr. took the second spot. R.J. Conley came from the eighth starting position and used the top line of the track to take the third finishing spot.

The fifth heat saw defending North/South 100 winner Pierce come from the fifth starting position to take the win. Kyle Bronson held the lead for most of the race until Pierce stormed by him. Darrell Lanigan came from seventh to finish in third.

The sixth and final heat of round one saw O’Neal, a two-time North/South 100 winner, take an early lead in the Clint Bowyer Racing/Peak Antifreeze and Coolant/Club 29 entry. O’Neal never looked back in claiming the win over fellow Hoosier-state driver Kent Robinson. Steve Francis, who was involved in an early race incident and had to restart on the tail, charged through the field and rallied to finish third.

The second round of heat races started off with Thursday night’s main event winner Jimmy Owens take the victory in the Ramirez Motorsports/E3 Spark Plugs Rocket. Jason Jameson, a former track champion at Florence, finished in the runner-up position with Darrell Lanigan taking the third spot.

In the second heat of round number two, Shanon Buckingham survived a torrid battle with Scott James to take the win. The driver of the Double Down Motorsports/Tennessee RV Supercenter Longhorn withstood several challenges from James to get the win. Trailing Buckingham and James to the finish line was Jason Miller.

The third heat saw Tim McCreadie in the Sweeteners Plus Longhorn lead all the way by dominating the entire race. Bloomquist came from the outside of row number five to finish second, and Adam Bowman came home in third.

The fourth heat saw a great race between Mike Marlar and Michael Chilton. The two drivers swapped the lead back-and-forth, with Marlar coming out the winner in the Ronnie Delk-owned Delk Equipment Sales Rocket. Chilton was second with Steve Casebolt trailing in third.

The fifth heat was taken by four-time LOLMDS champion Earl Pearson Jr., as he sprinted away from the pack to score the win in the Dunn-Benson Ford/Lucas Oil Longhorn. Hudson O’Neal grabbed the second spot at the finish line over Chris Ferguson, who was third.

The sixth and final heat of round two was an excellent battle between Brandon Overton and Gregg Satterlee. Satterlee led most of the way, until Overton overtook him in the waning laps for the win in the Chip Stone and Randy Weaver-owned Mission Transport Longhorn. Satterlee was second, with Devin Moran rounding out the top-three.

CREDIT: Lucas Communications

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.