LOLMDS: Lanigan Makes Last-Lap Pass Of O’Neal To Win At Atomic

RaceChaser Staff Featured, Lucas Oil Late Models 0 Comments

Darrell Lanigan celebrates in victory lane after winning Thursday night’s Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series race at Atomic Speedway. (LOLMDS photo)

CHILLICOTHE, Ohio — Darrell Lanigan passed his Clint Bowyer Racing teammate Don O’Neal on the final lap to win Thursday night’s Buckeye Spring 50 at Atomic Speedway.

Lanigan becomes the eighth different winner on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series this season.

O’Neal, who led the first 49 laps, fell just short after Lanigan made the winning pass off turn two coming to the checkered flag.

Defending series champion Scott Bloomquist finished third, while Devin Moran came home fourth after running second for most of the race. Tim McCreadie charged from 11th to complete the top five.

“When you race a teammate, you have to race him differently. Donnie [O’Neal] had a great car,” said Lanigan. “We have had a good car the last few weeks and had some bad luck. It feels good to win here tonight and close to home.”

“We were a little better there in one and two than him [O’Neal]. I kind of used the 71 [Hudson O’Neal] as a little bit of a pick on Donnie. I got through there clean and got the checkered. This is why we do this every week, because we enjoy it. To get a win makes the next night a little bit easier. The track was in good shape tonight, the top finally died out and you could race all over it.”

O’Neal continued his streak of solid performances with his second-place finish.

“He [Lanigan] was better in one or two, and it’s always better to be running second in lapped traffic because you can see up front better,” O’Neal said. “Congratulations to Darrell on the win. If you are going to lose on the final lap I guess it’s better to lose to your teammate. I never saw him [Lanigan] until I took the white flag. I wish now I had done something different on that last lap. Everybody on this crew is doing a great job and we now have the finishes to show for it.”

Bloomquist crossed the line in third after colliding with Rod Conley at the finish line.

“I didn’t even see him [Conley],” the defending champion admitted. “I tried to react. I think most of the damage is cosmetic … at least we didn’t destroy a car. It looked like it got the body panels and it didn’t knock the front end out. I didn’t know how the traffic was going to work out on that last lap. I just needed a longer race, but we will take this and head to Sharon.”

Jackie Boggs, Earl Pearson Jr., Steve Casebolt, Brandon Sheppard and Gregg Satterlee completed the top 10.


RESULTS: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series; Atomic Speedway; April 20, 2017

Feature (50 laps): 1. Darrell Lanigan, 2. Don O’Neal, 3. Scott Bloomquist, 4. Devin Moran, 5. Tim McCreadie, 6. Jackie Boggs, 7. Earl Pearson Jr., 8. Steve Casebolt, 9. Brandon Sheppard, 10. Gregg Satterlee, 11. Jimmy Owens, 12. Dennis Erb Jr., 13. Timothy Culp, 14. Eddie Carrier Jr., 15. Josh Richards, 16. Kody Evans, 17. Hudson O’Neal, 18. Boom Briggs, 19. Rod Conley, 20. Devin Gilpin, 21. R.J. Conley, 22. Steve Francis, 23. Bobby Pierce, 24. Mark Frazier.

CREDIT: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *