LOLMDS: Bloomquist Takes Inaugural Go 50 Win At Greenwood

RaceChaser Staff Featured, Lucas Oil Late Models 0 Comments

Scott Bloomquist celebrates after winning Tuesday night’s Go 50 at I-80 Speedway. (LOLMDS photo)

GREENWOOD, Neb. — Defending Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series champion Scott Bloomquist won his fifth race of the season Tuesday night at I-80 Speedway.

Bloomquist took the lead from Darrell Lanigan on lap 10 and led the rest of the way to score his 82nd career series victory in the Go 50.

First-time I-80 Speedway visitor Mason Zeigler finished in second, while 16th-starting Earl Pearson Jr. came home in third. Gregg Satterlee and Tim McCreadie completed the top five.

Bloomquist extended his point lead over McCreadie with the win and was pleased with his car for most of the race.

“We battled with Lanigan early on,” he explained. “I had to find a line to run at the start. There were several cautions and I was a bit concerned about the tires firing on the restarts. Towards the end of the race, the car was faster and I got a better handle on turn two, it had been causing the car to push a few times.

“The track was in great shape all night long; they had a lot of rain this week; it was fast. You had to have a good handling car out there tonight with those conditions. They always do a good job here in track prep. We look forward to coming back in July for the Silver Dollar Nationals.”

Bloomquist was challenged by Zeigler’s Ohio Pyle Vacation Rentals No. 25Z on a few occasions, but each time Zeigler would take a shot at the lead, Bloomquist would pull away.

“For our first time here, we are very pleased,” Zeigler said. “We came out to S&S here in Greenwood for work on our trailer and we decided we would stay and race. I am glad we did. It’s a fun race track to run on. We will be back in the future, no doubt about it. This new Rocket XR1 car has been bad fast from the time we started running it.”

Pearson roared from the outside of row eight to finish third.

“It was definitely a good run for the Dunn-Benson Ford, Longhorn Chassis,” Pearson said. “We were good on the bottom of the track. It was in great shape and very fast tonight. Now, we can head to Wheatland with a strong car and try to win the Show-Me 100.”


RESULTS: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series; I-80 Speedway; May 23, 2017

Feature (50 laps): 1. Scott Bloomquist, 2. Mason Zeigler, 3. Earl Pearson Jr., 4. Gregg Satterlee, 5. Tim McCreadie, 6. Josh Richards, 7. Darrell Lanigan, 8. Don O’Neal, 9. Steve Francis, 10. Dennis Erb Jr., 11. Chase Junghans, 12. Boom Briggs, 13. Matt Buller, 14. Jimmy Owens, 15. J.C. Wyman, 16. Tad Pospisill, 17. Jake O’Neil, 18. Mike Collins, 19. Ben Schaller, 20. Mike Marlar, 21. John Duty, 22. Hudson O’Neal, 23. Chris Simpson, 24. Rodney Sanders.

CREDIT: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.